top of page
Search
  • gudegoods

Tips To Save Your (finger)Tips

In lieu of what went down last week with my finger I shared in my recent YouTube video some rotary cutter safety tips.

  1. Choose whatever style rotary cutter feels best in your hand. I prefer the Fiskars rotary cutter because it has a handle.. but a lot of quilters that I know prefer their Olfa cutters that do not have a handle. What is most important is that you're comfortable using your rotary cutter. So try some different styles out until you find the right fit for you.

  2. You're not fooling anyone with that dull blade. Yes.. YOU.. I am talking to you. We all do it but now is the time. Take this as your reminder to go change your rotary blade... If you are anything like me, you like to extend the life of your rotary blade. They're expensive and it is hard to pause and prep in between projects but let's do better (together) with changing out our blades. When your rotary cutter is dull you are putting more work into your cuts.. the extra force you're using could cause you to cut yourself! You can thank me later when you are reminded of how effortless cutting with a rotary cutter is supposed to be!!

  3. GET OVER YOUR RULER! When I cut myself last week I was sitting parallel to my project. My cutting mat was way too high and I was unable to get over my ruler/project while cutting. If you prefer to sit while you're cutting that's FINE but make sure you are OVER your project/ruler. This will give you more leverage, control and visibility over your project.. and will save you from slicing yourself! I have found that putting a mini cutting mat on a TV tray works well for me. It is low enough to where I can still get over my project while I am sitting and cutting.

  4. Have your pinky out on the side of your ruler opposite from the cutting side. Having your pinky down on your table/mat/project while your cutting will help stabilize your ruler. You will be more prone to accidents if your project is slipping and sliding underneath you while cutting. If you are still having issues with trying to keep your ruler in place while cutting you can invest in some grips. There are several different styles available and I have provided some links down below.

  5. FOCUS! Turn that music down if you are too tempted to dance while cutting.. Limit your distractions so you can focus on what you are doing! It only takes a second to do something silly and really hurt yourself.

  6. When you are done using your rotary cutter and I mean after EVERY. SINGLE. CUT. before placing it down on your table PUT YOUR BLADE IN SAFETY MODE. Make this your new habit and you will be set for safe cutting. Sometimes our tables get messy while working on a new project.. fabric, rulers, pins, patterns, etc.. all sprawled out across your table.. imagine reaching for something and catching your open blade in the chaos.... OUCH! Save yourself the heartache and get in the habit of closing that blade before putting it down.

  7. If you have small kiddos it might be time to invest in a pegboard or a box you can lock and keep secure/out of reach. When I am not using my rotary cutter I hang it up on my pegboard wall so that my dangerously curious toddlers cannot get to it.

Below are links for different ruler grips:




I hope these tips help you keep yours in tact. Let me know down below in the comments if you have accidentally injured yourself while using your rotary cutter and whether you found these tips helpful!

Happy quilting everyone.

Beth



12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page